---
title: "Metrics dockable"
description: ""
url: "https://docs.itrsgroup.com/docs/geneos/7.11.0/visualization/active-console/view-customization/metrics-dockable/index.html"
---
## Overview

The Metrics dockable contains a number of metrics dataviews that are represented by a name and a tab. Each tab displays the contents of the selected metrics view.

This dockable also shows the following:

- View selector.
- Metric table.
- Path to the contained dataview.
- Search field.
- Sampling status.

The content of the primary metrics view always follow the selection in other Active Console components. It creates one metrics table for each dataview within the relevant directory component and insert it into the primary view. While, the custom metric views are manually populated. The list of dataviews do not change unless you add or remove these metrics tables from them.

There are no restrictions on the source of the dataviews that can be placed into a single metrics view. These can come from independent Gateways, and can connect to any plug-in type.

Example of a Metrics dataview:

![](https://docscdn.itrsgroup.com/geneos/images/active-console/ac-metrics-dataview-example-6-4.gif)

## View selector

The View selector is a tree structure that consist of
 groups and metric tables as leaf nodes. It appears on the left panel of the
**Metrics** view:

![View selector in the Metrics dataview](https://docscdn.itrsgroup.com/geneos/images/active-console/ac-metrics-view-selector.png)

The
 metric tables can be grouped by a primary and secondary
 attribute. The attributes that can be used are:

- **Gateway** — the Gateway that the
 dataviews within the table are contained
 within.
- **Netprobe** — the Netprobe that the
 dataviews within the table are contained
 within.
- **Managed Entity** — the managed
 entity that the dataviews within the table are
 contained within.
- **Sampler** — the sampler that the
 dataviews within the table are contained
 within.
- **Sampler Group** — the sampler
 group (as defined in the Gateway setup) that the data
views are contained within.
- **Plugin-name** — the type of plug-in
 name that the connected dataviews come from.
- **None** — you can negate the
 primary or secondary grouping by setting them to
 **None**. There are no grouping occur at the
 specified level. If the primary grouping attribute is
 set to **None**, then the secondary grouping attribute
 has no effect.

In cases where the dataviews connected to a metric
 table do not share a common value for a selected
 attribute, these belong into a group labelled
 **Multiple**. If the specified attribute cannot be located, these belong into **Unknown**
 group.

These are the available options to choose from when you right-click a managed entity from the View Selector:

- **Primary** and **Secondary** grouping — this attribute can be
 defined independently for each metrics view. Their
 current configuration is displayed at the top of
 the view selector.
- **Expand All** or **Collapse All** — expands or collapses the
 groups available within the metrics view selector.
- **Show Root
 Handles** — shows the `+/-` button that to expand or collapse the groups in the metrics view selector.
- **Allow fast Metrics Table activation** — enables or disables the metrics view.

### Adjust the navigation pane

Beginning Geneos 5.6.x, you can adjust the width of the navigation pane in the **View > Metrics** by dragging the line border to the left or right. This is useful to easily view the samplers or groups with long names.

![](https://docscdn.itrsgroup.com/geneos/images/active-console/ac-metrics-dockable-adjust-navigation-pane.gif)

## Metric tables

The view selector contains a list of metric tables.
 A metric table contains zero to many dataviews that are published from the plug-ins connected to the
 Gateways. These have two main properties:

- **Name** — the name used to identify
 the metric table in the view selector and the viewer.
 By default, it takes the name of the first dataview
 that is connected to the metric table.
- **Paths** — a set of user defined
 paths that determine which dataviews are included in
 the metric table.

 Beginning Active Console 5.5.x, the Managed Entity display name is used in the user readable path.
 A metric table has a single
 path which points at a single dataview. However, it is possible not
 only to include several paths, but to configure one or
 more of them to match multiple dataviews.

In
 these cases, the metric table may contain more than one
 dataview. When the metric table is selected and its
 contents displayed in the viewer, it shows single merged table that contains the
 contents of all the dataviews. This is referred to as **Metric Overview
 Tables**.

The set of dataviews connected to a metric table
 update as Gateways and probes come up and down.

For example, the content of metric tables is dynamic and
 reflects the current state at all times.

### Refresh the metric table data

This feature allows you force restart the data sampling in the dataview.

The sample rate or time is also shown that can be configured in Gateway Setup Editor:

1. Go to the Metrics dockable.
2. Click **Sample now** ![](https://docscdn.itrsgroup.com/geneos/images/Icons/refresh16x16.png "icon").

Metric tables update automatically when the dataviews contain resampling of data.

You can also stop these updates by clicking **Pause** ![](https://docscdn.itrsgroup.com/geneos/images/Icons/pause16x16.png "icon") from the metric table in the viewer.

### Add and remove metric tables

There are many ways on how to add or remove metric tables.

Using the options from State Tree:

1. Right-click any Managed entity or sampler.
2. Click **Create Metrics View**.
3. Select from the available settings you want to apply to your metric table.

Using options from View selector in Metrics dockable:

1. Right-click any Managed entity or sampler.
2. Click **Create Metrics View**.
3. Select from the available settings you want to apply to your metric table.

**Create Metrics View** has the following options:

- In New Dockable — opens the metrics table into a new Metrics dockable. This automatically save in the workspace.
- In New Temporary Dockable — opens the metrics table into a new Metrics dockable. However, this does not automatically save in the workspace.
- metricsview — opens the metrics table in the same Metrics dockable. You can select to open it on a new tab or to any existing tabs on the same Metrics dockable screen.

Another option is to drag and drop the Managed entity or sample into the Metrics dockable. This added to the currently opened metrics tab in your Metrics dockable.


**Note**

  You can only add new metric tables to
 custom metrics views through drag and drop. You cannot modify the primary
 view. 


To remove the metrics dataview:

1. Right-click the metrics dataview from the Metrics dockable.
2. Select **Remove Metrics Table**.


**Note**

  This cannot be done within the primary
 metrics view. 


### Metric table viewer

If the metric table is displaying a single dataview, then the headlines for that dataview are displayed above the table in a series of horizontally
 ordered boxes.

If the metric table has more than one
 dataview, then the headlines are displayed in another
 table. This includes columns detailing the Gateway and managed
 entity the headline is applicable to, so that you can
 tie specific headlines to specific dataview instances
 that make up the metric table.

### Configure the column headings

The columns in metric tables allows you to:

- Reorder and sort the column headers through drag and drop.
- Set the column size or auto-resize all columns.
- Hide and show the specific column header.

These settings are save for as long as the metric table exists in the view
 selector.


**Note**

  The first column of a metric table
 is treated as a special column that cannot be
 hidden. Once resized, it does not occupy more than a
 third of the viewable screen. If any value of a
 first column cell is longer than this limit, use a tooltip to view the full
 value.


You can choose to save the settings as the default for all metrics tables of the same name.

To save this setting, go to the metric table:

1. Right-click any column header.
2. Click **Column settings**.
3. Select **Save as data view defaults**.

Alternatively, you can save the column settings
 selectively by using the **Table Column Settings Editor**.
 This dialog is accessible on the same menu when you right-click any column header, or go to **Tools > Table Column Settings Editor**. See [Table column settings editor](https://docs.itrsgroup.com/docs/geneos/7.11.0/visualization/active-console/view-customization/metrics-dockable/index.html#table-column-settings-editor).

Whenever a metric table with a
 dataview of the same name is created, the default
 column settings are applied. However, any existing
 metric tables are not affected.


**Warning**

  The primary metric view constantly
 refreshes its content based on user selection. Do not spend too much time setting up table layouts
 here, as these will be lost as soon as there is a new
 user selection in another Active Console component. You can define the dataview default settings that can be saved.


To revert the changes made to dataview default setting, go to the metric table:

1. Right-click any column header.
2. Click **Column settings**.
3. Select **Revert to data
 view defaults**.

The other option is to revert any
 modified settings to factory defaults by clicking to **Column settings > Revert to Factory
 Settings**.

This setting loses any
 modified settings in favour of factory defaults, but
 no changes are applicable to the workspace.
 Therefore, when the dataview is loaded next time,
 the workspace default is automatically applied.

#### Column header naming convention

Using curly brackets `{ }` as characters in the table column headers can cause Active Console to crash or result in infinite loop issues.

Beginning Geneos 5.10.x, the Active Console will automatically replace the curly brackets `{ }` with parentheses `( )` in its rendering of the column header names. Active Console will display logs to indicate that the curly bracket characters are replaced.

Example log: `[INFO] The column header "Tableheader {1}" has been changed to "Tableheader (1)"`


**Note**

  This only applies to column headers. Headlines, row names, and row cells in the table can still render the curly brackets with no issues. 


### Sampling information label

This label is available on the Metrics dataview next to the **Pause** ![](https://docscdn.itrsgroup.com/geneos/images/Icons/pause16x16.png "icon"). This sampling information label contains comma-separated literal values for rows, sampling interval, manual sampling time stamp, last sample time stamp, and list of hidden columns.

The **Last sample** value displayed in the dataview is the **Sample Time** value of the Netprobe:

```
4 rows, Sampling every 20 seconds, User requested sample completed at <local AC time>, Last sample <Netprobe Last Sample Time>
```

![Sampling information label](https://docscdn.itrsgroup.com/geneos/images/active-console/ac-metrics-sampling-information.png)

The **Last sample** value updates based on the events listed below. However, this value will also update even without events that trigger an update to the dataview.

- When you click the **Sample now** ![](https://docscdn.itrsgroup.com/geneos/images/Icons/refresh16x16.png "icon") button in the dataview, the Active Console requests an update from the Gateway, and the Gateway subsequently sends an update to the Active Console. This button is disabled for dataviews in non-sampling plugins such as the API plugin.
- When you select a dataview from the **State Tree** or **Metrics dockable**, bringing the dataview into focus, the Active Console requests an update from the Gateway, and the Gateway subsequently sends an update to the Active Console.
- When a value in a dataview updates while the dataview is selected, the Netprobe sends an update to the Gateway, and the Gateway subsequently sends an update to the Active Console.


**Note**


The **Last sample** value may not always update in real time due to optimizations. To verify the sampling details, use the right-click **Properties** menu and check **Sample Time**.



### Sub-rows or indented rows

Geneos UIs will by convention display rows containing a # character indented from the other rows in a dataview. Such rows are sometimes referred to as "sub-rows", and are typically used for displaying additional details for the row they are displayed under. Example usage by other Geneos plug-ins include the "summary+details" view of the PROCESSES plug-in, or physical/logical rows of the CPU plug-in.

To use sub-rows in your own plug-in, simply name the row in the form `topRow#detail`. Metrics for the sub row should typically display detailed information, while the top (or summary) row displays a summary or aggregate of the sub rows. For example, a "total" or "average" column would display the total or average of the figures displayed beneath it.

```
-- Sub-rows are displayed 'indented' in Geneos UI
-- This convention is typically used to display "summary" and "detail" data in the same view.
-- The top-level row shows the summary or aggregate data.
subrowsView.row["top"]      = { 8, 7, 4 }
subrowsView.row["top#sub1"] = { 2, 7, 3 }
subrowsView.row["top#sub2"] = { 6, 0, 1 }
subrowsView.row["head"]      = { 1, 0, 0 }
subrowsView.row["head#sub1"] = { 1, 0, 0 }
assert(subrowsView:publish())
```

The code above produces the following dataview:

![Dataviews SubRows](https://docscdn.itrsgroup.com/geneos/images/ImportedGeneosImages/HowTo-Dataviews-SubRows.png)

### Status of hidden columns

The status bar displays a list of column names
 that are currently hidden from the table. This
 hidden column information is independent of any
 persisted table settings. If there are hidden columns,
 these are listed here.


**Note**

  The exception to this rule are
 columns whose name starts with a '/'. These are
 hidden by default, and therefore their hidden
 status is not reported on the status bar.


### Active and inactive metric tables

You can make metric tables active and inactive. This is useful if you have large scale
 metric overview tables that you only need by the time
 you query them.


**Caution**

  Metric tables still consume memory and CPU usage when active. You may consider making them
 inactive when not in use.


To do this:

1. Right-click the selected metric table or the selected Managed entity/sampler in the **View Selector**.
2. Select **Active**.

 **Inactive dataview** ![](https://docscdn.itrsgroup.com/geneos/images/Icons/inactivedataview16x16.png "icon") metric tables contain
 no dataviews. Once activated, the dataviews return in metrics table.

### Save metric tables as CSV

You can make an output of metric tables that saves the table to a comma
 separated (`.csv`) file:

1. Right-click the selected metric table.
2. Select **Save As CSV**.
3. Type the filename in the **File name** field.
4. Click **Save**.

You can also use the **Copy Dataview** option that places
 the non-filtered table contents into the system
 clipboard.

### Query the metrics table

You can perform a simple query function that can be
 performed on metric tables.

**Count Unique** is used to count the
 number of unique names or values in a given column.

To use this method, follow these instructions:

1. Right-click the selected metric table.
2. Click **Query Table**.
3. Select **Count Unique**.
4. Click **OK** to close the dialog box.


**Success**

  The results of the selected parameter with unique values show in a dialog box. 


## Configure metrics filters

You can add filters to any metric table to restrict the rows
 that are displayed based on criteria.

To configure metrics filters:

1. Right-click the selected metric table.
2. Click **Filter Table**.
3. Click **Add** ![](https://docscdn.itrsgroup.com/geneos/images/Icons/addItem16x16.png "icon") to specify the metric filters.
4. Click **OK** to save the changes.

![Configure Metrics Filters](https://docscdn.itrsgroup.com/geneos/images/active-console/ac-metrics-configure-metrics-filters.png)

A row is only displayed if it passes all the filter
 conditions. Each filter has the following
 attributes:

If a metric table has an active filter, then the sampling information labels indicates the number rows and filters applied:

![Sampling information label with filters](https://docscdn.itrsgroup.com/geneos/images/active-console/ac-metrics-configure-metrics-filters-output.png)

Filters persist for the life time of the metric
 table and between Active Console sessions. Therefore, it is possible to add two metric tables to a
 metrics view which have the same path attributes (and
 therefore contain the same data views) because you
 can set up different filters on these tables.

To remove the filters, follow these instructions:

1. Right-click the selected metric table.
2. Click **Clear filters**.

<div class="table-container">
<table class="legacy-table" style="width: 100%;margin-left: 0;margin-right: auto;mc-table-style: url('../../../Resources/TableStyles/ref_2_col_table.css');" class="TableStyle-ref_2_col_table" cellspacing="0">
                    <col class="TableStyle-ref_2_col_table-Column-Column1" style="width: 182px;"/>
                    <col class="TableStyle-ref_2_col_table-Column-Column1"/>
                    <thead>
                        <tr class="TableStyle-ref_2_col_table-Head-Header1">
                            <th class="TableStyle-ref_2_col_table-HeadE-Column1-Header1">Field</th>
                            <th class="TableStyle-ref_2_col_table-HeadD-Column1-Header1">Description</th>
                        </tr>
                    </thead>
                    <tbody>
                        <tr class="TableStyle-ref_2_col_table-Body-Body1">
                            <td class="TableStyle-ref_2_col_table-BodyE-Column1-Body1">Column</td>
                            <td class="TableStyle-ref_2_col_table-BodyD-Column1-Body1">
                                <p>The column whose row
 value must pass the filter. </p>
                                <p>There are also special
 cases for <code>ANY COLUMN</code>, where 1 or more cell values
 in a row must match the criteria.</p>
                                <p> Or <code>ALL COLUMNS</code>,
 where all row values must match the criteria.</p>
                            </td>
                        </tr>
                        <tr class="TableStyle-ref_2_col_table-Body-Body1">
                            <td class="TableStyle-ref_2_col_table-BodyE-Column1-Body1">Not</td>
                            <td class="TableStyle-ref_2_col_table-BodyD-Column1-Body1">A Boolean flag check box that
 inverts the criteria.</td>
                        </tr>
                        <tr class="TableStyle-ref_2_col_table-Body-Body1">
                            <td class="TableStyle-ref_2_col_table-BodyE-Column1-Body1">Value</td>
                            <td class="TableStyle-ref_2_col_table-BodyD-Column1-Body1">Value to match
 against.</td>
                        </tr>
                        <tr class="TableStyle-ref_2_col_table-Body-Body1">
                            <td class="TableStyle-ref_2_col_table-BodyE-Column1-Body1">Operator </td>
                            <td class="TableStyle-ref_2_col_table-BodyD-Column1-Body1">
                                <p>A series of logical
 operators that determines the relationship
 between a successful match and the value
 specified in the value column.</p>
                                <ul>
                                    <li><strong>Contains</strong> &#8212; matches if the
 value of the specified column contains
 (case sensitive) the value defined.</li>
                                    <li><strong>Contains No Case</strong> &#8212; matches
 if the specified column contains (non-case
 sensitive) the value defined.</li>
                                    <li><strong>Equal</strong> &#8212; matches if the
 specified column is the same with the specified
 value. This is a literal string equality (case
 sensitive).</li>
                                    <li><strong>Equal No Case</strong> &#8212; matches if
 the specified column is the same with the specified
 value. This is a literal string equality
 (non-case sensitive).</li>
                                    <li><strong>Less than</strong> &#8212; matches if the
 specified column is less than the
 specified value.</li>
                                    <li><strong>Greater than</strong> &#8212; matches if
 the specified column is greater than the
 specified value.</li>
                                    <li><strong>Numeric Equals</strong> &#8212; matches if
 the specified column is the same with the specified
 value. as a mathematical equality.</li>
                                </ul>
                            </td>
                        </tr>
                        <tr class="TableStyle-ref_2_col_table-Body-Body1">
                            <td class="TableStyle-ref_2_col_table-BodyB-Column1-Body1"> </td>
                            <td class="TableStyle-ref_2_col_table-BodyA-Column1-Body1"> </td>
                        </tr>
                    </tbody>
                </table>
                
</div>

## Create a metrics overview

To create a Metrics Overview, do one of the following:

- Click **Tools > Metrics Overview**.
- Press `CTRL` + `O.`
- Click **Metrics Overview** ![](https://docscdn.itrsgroup.com/geneos/images/Icons/metricOverviewWizard22x22.png "icon") in the toolbar.

This allows you to specify a dataview name, a target metrics view, and whether to filter the dataviews on the current state tree selection.

The Metrics Overview is created with the relevant metrics view that contains all dataviews of the specified type currently connected to the Active Console, in the specified section of the State Tree.

The Metrics Overview screen has the following options:

![Metrics Overview](https://docscdn.itrsgroup.com/geneos/images/active-console/ac-metrics-overview.png)

### Select the persistent overview option

This changes the default behaviour to close the Metrics Overview dockable when the window is closed.

In addition, this adds the **Persistent overview** check box in the overview metrics wizard which was initially turned off.

1. Select the **Dataview Attribute** and the field you want to view.
2. Tick the **Persistent overview** check box.
3. Click **OK**.


**Success**

  The New Overview Dockable displays on the screen. 


<div class="table-container">
<table class="legacy-table" style="width: 100%;margin-left: 0;margin-right: auto;mc-table-style: url('../../../Resources/TableStyles/ref_2_col_table.css');" class="TableStyle-ref_2_col_table" cellspacing="0">
                    <col class="TableStyle-ref_2_col_table-Column-Column1" style="width: 274px;"/>
                    <col class="TableStyle-ref_2_col_table-Column-Column1"/>
                    <thead>
                        <tr class="TableStyle-ref_2_col_table-Head-Header1">
                            <th class="TableStyle-ref_2_col_table-HeadE-Column1-Header1">Field</th>
                            <th class="TableStyle-ref_2_col_table-HeadD-Column1-Header1">Description</th>
                        </tr>
                    </thead>
                    <tbody>
                        <tr class="TableStyle-ref_2_col_table-Body-Body1">
                            <td class="TableStyle-ref_2_col_table-BodyE-Column1-Body1">Dataview attribute</td>
                            <td class="TableStyle-ref_2_col_table-BodyD-Column1-Body1">Defines which attribute of dataviews is used to populate the list and subsequently used to populate the overview.</td>
                        </tr>
                        <tr class="TableStyle-ref_2_col_table-Body-Body1">
                            <td class="TableStyle-ref_2_col_table-BodyE-Column1-Body1">Dataview name</td>
                            <td class="TableStyle-ref_2_col_table-BodyD-Column1-Body1">
                                <p>A list of all the unique names of the dataviews you are currently connected to through the Gateways. </p>
                                <p>You have to select one or more of these before clicking OK (Hold down the <code>CTRL</code> key to make a multiple selection).
</p>
                                <p>Also, you can double-click an item from the list to save than having to click OK. However, this limits the selection of one dataview type.</p>
                            </td>
                        </tr>
                        <tr class="TableStyle-ref_2_col_table-Body-Body1">
                            <td class="TableStyle-ref_2_col_table-BodyE-Column1-Body1">Metrics view</td>
                            <td class="TableStyle-ref_2_col_table-BodyD-Column1-Body1">The target metrics view that you want to insert the new metrics overview into.</td>
                        </tr>
                        <tr class="TableStyle-ref_2_col_table-Body-Body1">
                            <td class="TableStyle-ref_2_col_table-BodyE-Column1-Body1">Limit on the current state tree selection</td>
                            <td class="TableStyle-ref_2_col_table-BodyD-Column1-Body1">
                                <p>Limits the dataviews that are selected to go into your new metrics overview based on the current selection in the State Tree. </p>
                                <p>For example, only dataviews that are children of the currently selected state tree node are selected to go into your metrics overview. </p>
                                <p>If you turn this off, then the state tree selection is ignored and all dataviews with the specified name are inserted into the State Tree.</p>
                                <p>Default: On</p>
                            </td>
                        </tr>
                        <tr class="TableStyle-ref_2_col_table-Body-Body1">
                            <td class="TableStyle-ref_2_col_table-BodyB-Column1-Body1"> </td>
                            <td class="TableStyle-ref_2_col_table-BodyA-Column1-Body1"> </td>
                        </tr>
                    </tbody>
                </table>
                
</div>

### Export and import metric views

You can export a metrics view (one of the tabs) to a
 file that can then be imported into another
 workspace:

1. To export, right click in the view
 selector and select the export function.
2. To import, go to **File > Import**.

## Table column settings editor

The Table Column Settings Editor configures the table settings in the Metrics view.

To open this editor:

1. Right-click any data item in the Metrics view.
2. Select **Column Settings**.
3. Click **Table Column Settings Editor**.


**Note**

  If you open this editor through **Tools > Table Column Settings Editor**, the Active Console leads you to an empty view. Check that a cell or data item is selected from the **Metrics** view before you use this. 


### Configure the table column settings

For each column in the table, the following column
 settings can be saved:

- **Visibility** — displays the column.
- **Position** — sets the order of the columns, where the leftmost column
 uses the index `0`, and the rightmost column uses the `X-1`,
 where `X` is the number of columns.
- **Width** — width of the columns,in pixels.
- **Sort Order** — the sort order has
 two parts: the order, which is an index, and the
 direction, which can move up (sort ascending), or move down
 (sort descending). Since multiple columns can be
 sorted, the index refers to the priority of the
 sorting. For example, the data is first sorted on the column
 with sort index `0`, and then, if there are duplicates,
 the data is sorted by the column with sort index `1` and
 so on.

You can also review, change, or remove any previously
 saved settings for all tables. If you remove saved
 settings for a table, then the system automatically
 resets itself to factory settings for that table. Different operations are associated
 with each type of settings that can be saved, such as:

- Highlighted cells in yellow contain settings that the workspace saves.
- Highlighted cells in gray represent the current table settings.
- Hiding a column disables the properties.

The **Remove Persisted Settings**, which is located at the bottom of the editor, can be used to remove all modified column settings for the selected dataview entry.

![Table Column Settings Editor](https://docscdn.itrsgroup.com/geneos/images/active-console/ac-metrics-table-column-settings-editor.png)

### Edit columns properties

You can manipulate the column headers to change their properties. Right-click the specific row in the table for more options:

- **Selected Cells** — manipulate settings for all selected
 cells. To select multiple cells, press and hold `CTRL` while selecting the cell you want to configure.
- **Current Cell** — applies changes to the selected cell.
- **Current Column** — the column which the current
 cell belongs to.
- **Current Row** — defines the current settings for
 all table columns.

The Table Column Settings Editor can only be configured properly when you right-click a cell in the Metrics dockable.


